Protests

Egypt is a country in transition and many people are wary of what the future holds. Cairo especially is an exciting place full of potential changes. Sometimes those changes come violently, unfortunately.

Due to this turmoil many people I knew, and some I didn’t, were apprehensive about my moving to Cairo to teach at a local international school. It often seemed that the less people knew the more opinionated they were about my decision. Certainly the people that were the most vocally opposed to my move were the ones that I knew the least. Old acquaintances have came out of the woodwork through Facebook to let me know just how crazy I am to be here now.

Thankfully, I can tell them that in my two weeks in Cairo, I have seen no violence and I’m having a wonderful time.

That doesn’t mean that everything is coming up roses, though. Curfew has significantly dampened the mood in the area, and I haven’t had the opportunity to see any of the famous landmarks of Cairo: the pyramids, the Egyptian museum, or downtown Cairo.

In fact, there were protesters standing on the sidewalk on Saturday evening, and again today outside my gym. The people hold up yellow signs and flyers that display an image of a right hand displaying the number four. I’m told that the four represents the Mosque where the largest sit-in occurred and where much of the violence has been reported. The four is in support of the Muslim Brotherhood. It’s odd to see women in full burqas shouting,  holding signs, and generally being vocal about their opinions.

The protesters stand on the side of the road, they do not block traffic nor do they throw things at passersby. At most they are an annoyance that slows traffic as drivers rubberneck.

Today I saw women with infants, toddlers, and teenagers protesting alongside men and women in  burqas. They all have a message and want to be heard. Isn’t that their human right?

 

Categories: Egypt, Life Abroad | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Protests

  1. Christina this is a very interesting point of view that isn’t shown in the media. You are very honest about what you have seen and what you haven’t and have given me a clearer image of what’s happening that I have been able to see from other sources. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

Expat Alien

recovering expat on the prairie

Clueless in Kuwait

An American expat living in Kuwait and totally clueless!

Aisha's Oasis

A peaceful place to relax while on my wild joyride to Egypt from South Carolina.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

