What’s in a gym?

Going to the gym has never been fun for me. I have no clue what I’m doing, I’ve had some poor experiences, and I tend to give up and fall out of a routine easily. However, here in New Cairo I have a chance at a fresh start.

Even before I’d seen the school the staff were talking about signing up for membership at a nearby gym. The more people who join, the cheaper it is. So, I bit the bullet and raised my hand to join the gym. What better time to start than now? I start a new job, in a new home, in a new city, in a new country; I might as well start at a new gym, too. So, I forked over a lot of money for a 14-month membership and started out.

What does and Egyptian gym look like? Well Titan’s Gym looks a lot like most gyms in the States. There are treadmills, elliptical machines, weight machines, free weights, and even a pool, it’s simply a little smaller at the New Cairo branch. There are 5 treadmills, 5 elliptical machines, one of each weight machine (some of which pull double duty), and the pool is attached to the hotel so it’s small and oddly shaped.

Wandering around the gym are the requisite trainers who are impossibly fit and gorgeous. I think they’re there to make everyone feel the need to push a little harder. I was met by a trainer, Hannah who immediately signed me up for my four free personal training sessions. Hannah is beautiful, but if she stands sideways and sticks out her tongue she could be a zipper. She’s impossibly skinny, and shows it off with form-fitting workout gear. She’s also very nice, but rather blunt when it comes to my training regimen.

Also present in the gym are locals who are working out just like anyone else. Some women wear headscarves, some do not. In the locker room I saw an attendant praying as she took a break from her duties.

The attendants are so helpful with the facilities. They’ll show you how to use the jacuzzi, steam box (room is too generous a term), or sauna. My friend, Kelly, always has trouble with her lock, and now has a close relationship with the attendant who comes over to help her unlock it.

titan'sgymlogo

My personal trainer, Tarek, is a very fit gentleman with limited English. During our first session together he also trained two of my colleagues from work. He’d send me to the treadmill for 2 minutes while he took Luke and Emily through drills. Then he’d work me in drills while Luke and Emily ran on the treadmill. 35 minutes went by pretty quickly, and not too painfully. Tarek uses few words, opting to show me the exercises he wants me to run. He is constantly counting to five as I do jumping jacks, run in place, or shuffle across the floor.

That was yesterday. Today, Tarek worked me for 45 minutes; after the first 15 I didn’t think I’d make it through. I think I’ll hear his voice counting to five in my nightmares. He even said, “Today, very good. Yesterday not so good.” Boy, will I be sore tomorrow!

Tomorrow I’ve got an appointment to see the doctor, and next week the nutritionist. If not now, when?

Categories: Egypt, Life Abroad | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What’s in a gym?

  1. anacruiz10

    I’m really glad you’re taking the steps to be more physically fit and healthy in your life!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

Expat Alien

recovering expat on the prairie

Clueless in Kuwait

An American expat living in Kuwait and totally clueless!

Aisha's Oasis

A peaceful place to relax while on my wild joyride to Egypt from South Carolina.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

howdoyousaytacoinspanish

Lost and found in translation - my expat life in Mexico

