Post Peace Corps Sacrifice

This is all so true, and a major part of the reason I continue to travel and live abroad.

Vaughan's Voice

When I tell people I served in the Peace Corps, most people react with a big “Wow. THAT must have been hard.” They seem to think that living in a developing country for 2 years must have been a filled with sacrifices. Truth be told, I did “give up” a lot. I gave up 24/7 access to high speed internet and was left with one internet day a week. I missed a lot of things. Food, drink, family, friends, and a language I was 100% versed in.

But now that I’ve been back in America for 8 months, I’m starting to realize that the sacrifices I made leaving the US for Paraguay, my host country, were nothing compared to the sacrifices I made when I finished my service and got on a plane headed back to North America. I realize this may be hard for some Americans to understand, so I’ve decided…

View original post 759 more words

Categories: Life Abroad | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Post Peace Corps Sacrifice

  1. Rena Carter | September 4, 2014 at 11:23 pm | Reply
    czirmai, above, is my daughter. I hope she will allow me to speak for her: I think one of her biggest sacrifices in returning to the US after a Peace Corps stint in Mongolia, was the high value placed on Sticking It Out. In her home country it is very easy to get another job, eat at a different restaurant, find other friends to hang out with, change banks, basically vote on almost anything with her feet/wallet/date book. The Peace Corps is pass/fail. You either deal with what you’re given in the situation, or your sorry butt goes back home on a plane, never to return. And she passed with flying colors. Nothing, ever, will be that heart wrenching for a mother: to encourage your flesh and blood to persevere under awful circumstances, simply because she said she would. Don’t come home to me where I can take care of you, my little daughter: I know this ain’t what you thought you signed up for, but sign up you did and your word and honor is at stake. So a big BOO RAH to all Peace Corps volunteers everywhere who had the stones to Stick It Out.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

Expat Alien

recovering expat on the prairie

Clueless in Kuwait

An American expat living in Kuwait and totally clueless!

Aisha's Oasis

A peaceful place to relax while on my wild joyride to Egypt from South Carolina.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

