‘Ringing’ in the new year

1 January 2015

Today marks the beginning of a new blogging adventure: A Year in Jewelry.

Several years ago I was living in Beijing, China, when my younger brother, N, came to visit. We spent a week exploring the city, eating strange foods, drinking, and generally having a blast.

On December 31, 2012, I decided that it was time to get my nose pierced. I’d thought about it for a while, and decided it was high time. So, I plucked up my courage, gathered my brother, and headed to the nearby shopping center, Golden Towers.

Golden Towers

Golden Towers

N and I went up the stairs to this teeny booth where I had seen others get their noses (and ears) pierced before. Using my limited Mandarin and a lot of hand gestures I asked the woman to pierce my nose.

DSCN5834

Before…

 

I picked out a relatively non-blingy stud that the woman sterilized using alcohol and the flame from a lighter. She drew a guide dot on my nose and I checked it out in the mirror and had N make sure it wasn’t off center or something. Then, the time came.

DSCN5835

Checking the placement

 

Gripping N’s hand for dear life, I breathed heavily through my mouth as the tiny woman shoved the needle through my nostril with surprising force. OUCH. My eyes watered, N’s hand went numb, but I did it!

N thought it looked cool, Dad thought I had a blemish on my nose, and Mom was mad that I didn’t take her with me to get it.

DSCN5837

Ouch!

 

A month or so later I had the woman take out the piercing stud, and I replaced it with a simple, removable stud.

While taking a shower that same evening I rubbed my face a little too vigorously. The nose stud popped out of my nostril and was down the drain before I could get it. Having no other studs on hand, I had to leave the hole empty. Big mistake.

When I was finally able to go back to the kiosk a few days later and buy a new nose ring, it didn’t fit. The hole had already closed up too much. So now, the woman had to re-pierce my nose, through the tender, growing tissue. Talk about major ouch.

 

Now I am never without a piece of jewelry in my nose. Today, it’s a simple silver ring that I got cheap at Claire’s in England.

Tomorrow? Who nose . . . er . . . knows?

 

Categories: A Year in Jewelry | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

Expat Alien

recovering expat on the prairie

Clueless in Kuwait

An American expat living in Kuwait and totally clueless!

Aisha's Oasis

A peaceful place to relax while on my wild joyride to Egypt from South Carolina.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

howdoyousaytacoinspanish

Lost and found in translation - my expat life in Mexico

